What corner do we use?

At the last weekend, during a driver meeting one person asked: "Which corner do we use? The inner one or the outer one?" The answer was " the inside corner 8, not the new outside."

This brought back a question in me that has been occupying my mind for the entire summer...why don't we use the new, outside corner 8? Apparently it is being used only one day per year, during the HPDE (feel free to correct this rookie if he is wrong!). Because several people informally had talked about this a few times already, I decided to loosely investigate why this part of the track is not being used. The best answer among the "because" and "I dunno" was "people don't like the way it flows".

I am looking at this new piece of pavement, and I am imagining out how much thought and money was invested in laying this corner onto the ground, just to be relegated to an "and then there is"...

Some of my background is rallying, and the notion that things have to be the way they work best is completely foreign and strange to me. I am sure that I am not the only one believing that a good driver makes the best out of whatever he has available to him or her.

Is there a real reason why the outside turn 8 is not being used? I am not saying that it should be used the entire time, but from what I remember from the HPDE, the new turn is interesting and in good shape. There was some loose discussion over the past two weekends, and most of the few people involved felt that it would be nice to have a partially different track available once in a while. It would combat complacency and boredom, stir up new interest, challenge the old dogs to get used to new tricks, allow the club to advertise two(ish) tracks, rattle the established order of who is the fastest (unless the drivers are good, and then they have credence to their claim since they can master two semi-different lay-outs of the track) and it validates and credits the logistical investment of building this outside corner.