Sign in to follow this  
DKemp

Promoting autocross

DKemp    2

When I take my kids for walks around the neighbourhood or go to a mall I see all sorts of cars that would be fun at autocross but these cars are never at our events. 

What are the chances of getting some business type cards made up that we could carry a few in our pockets?  Then when we see these cars we could stick one under the wiper. 

The card would just need the website and promote a fun and friendly environment to learn about your car. I know I didn't come to an event for a long time because I assumed it would have a "car show" "clicky" mentality. Boy was I wrong! Everyone has been great and I couldn't be happier. 

Anyway just a thought I had to get more drivers out to the events. 

nishanna    9

The best promoter of an event would be to have one inside the city so people can see it first hand. I was a spectator first before I was a driver, all it took was to watch a couple events and go for a ride-along at RRX and I knew I wanted to try it. Business cards won't hurt, but I think they would have minimal impact. TopTier Imports have an autocross thread on their forums every year and they get a ton of traffic so lots of car enthusiasts already know about it, but still don't come out.

I remember all the interest that the RRX and Steinbach events generated... that's definitely the way to get the sport rebooted. It's just become an almost impossible task to find a venue.

Throwback to the first event I spectated :lol:

Beau    91